Australia, New Zealand, Argentina, Portugal, Peru, Brazil, Italy, Israel and other countries continued to offer premier coaching and education for their agents, with an incredible response. Restrictions on those countries will remain in place, the official said. Based on 2018 data, an estimated 12,398 people could be impacted by the new ban, according to the official. The revisions also come as the US is grappling with how to handle the. DHS and other departments evaluate each countries compliance with the criteria, as well as risk of travel to the US from terrorists and criminals. The administration has argued that the travel ban is vital to national security and ensures countries meet US security needs, by requiring a certain level of identity management and information sharing requirements. Updated 12:58 PM ET, Sat February 22, 2020. “Leaders championing professional development, training and philanthropy; virtual conferencing; and continued recruiting support and business coaching have firmed confidence,” said Mr Davoren, “and the brand’s culture of nurturing entrepreneurship attracts top professionals.”. In addition to the 27 EU countries, the ECDC covers the UK, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein. Immigrant groups derided the expansion of the program. RE/MAX LLC, the global headquarters, conducted the sale of the New Zealand region to Don Ha, the first New Zealander to own the region in its 24-year history with the brand, entirely over Zoom. This site uses cookies to assist with navigation, analyse your use of our services, and provide content from third parties. According to the administration, the US decided to focus on immigrant visas for two reasons: these six countries have a "greater prospect" for improvement, additionally it is more challenging to deport someone who has emigrated to the US, rather than a tourist or visitor. Democratic lawmakers have continued to denounce the ban and pushed back against the administration's argument that the ban was for national security purposes. “Despite the pandemic and the varying impact on countries across the world, our resilient global network has continued to grow, with more than 6,000 agents outside the U.S. and Canada joining RE/MAX over the past year. emerged as a network empowering the women of RE/MAX to thrive during COVID and beyond. Political analyst: Is Trump running a campaign from 1954? Of course there are exceptions to the rule. Click here to sign in with The administration did "not feel it would be proportionate to impose travel restrictions" on all travelers, the official said. More than half of countries in the EU, plus the UK, were on Thursday labelled red in a new map issued by the bloc's disease control agency aimed at guiding decisions on travel restrictions. They were born in Eritrea. The current policy restricts entry from seven countries to varying degrees: Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria and Yemen, along with Venezuela and North Korea. However, only green card lotteries will be restricted from Sudan and Tanzania, said a DHS official Friday. The western half of the island of New Guinea was ruled by the Dutch from the 1600s through the 1960s. You can be assured our editors closely monitor every feedback sent and will take appropriate actions. She's lived in the US for years. President Trump is doubling down on his signature anti-Muslim policy -- and using the ban as a way to put even more of his prejudices into practice by excluding more communities of color," ACLU's director of its Immigrants' Rights Project, Omar Jadwat, responded in a statement. "It's pure discrimination and racism," Jackson Lee said. Chad was removed from the list last April after the White House said the country improved security measures. Their ability to do that offered me and family tremendous freedoms and opportunities," he said. We do not guarantee individual replies due to extremely high volume of correspondence. You can unsubscribe at any time and we'll never share your details to third parties. More than half of countries in the EU, plus the UK, were on Thursday labelled red in a new map issued by the bloc's disease control agency aimed at guiding decisions on travel restrictions. By using our site, you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Privacy Policy The content is provided for information purposes only. Now she faces a tough choice, Covid-19 tension building between Trump and Fauci, WH task force member escalates dangerous anti-science view, Pennsylvania AG: This is a win for Pennsylvania voters, Gov. Whitmer reacts to Trump rhetoric: It's dangerous, Why the FBI is planning for possible Election Day violence, Tapper presses Lara Trump on President's comments on Gov. "Travelers on their way to the United States will not be denied entry as a result of this proclamation," said the official. For example, Burma's tracking of lost and stolen passports is "behind most of the world" and Eritrea doesn't meet the threshold for criminal and terrorist information sharing, said the official regarding examples of specific country issues. Any country on either ban can have their restrictions removed at anytime by fixing the deficiencies, according to the DHS official, pointing to Chad being removed from the list for making improvements on lost and stolen passport reporting and deepened exchange of terrorist information. In 2018, the Supreme Court upheld the third version of the travel ban after the previous iterations were challenged in court. Science X Daily and the Weekly Email Newsletter are free features that allow you to receive your favorite sci-tech news updates in your email inbox, EU countries adopt common travel guidelines amid pandemic, Cell-type mapping used to identify cellular substrates that underlie two types of thirst, Replacing asphalt with forest-type plants at daycare centers found to strengthen immune defenses in children, Using artificial intelligence to predict cardiovascular disease, Binge drinking may cause Alzheimer's disease—and it might strike younger and in a severe form, Experimental COVID-19 treatment given to Trump found to relieve symptoms in macaques and hamsters. The red rating is if the 14-day notification rate is 150 cases or higher per 100,000. part may be reproduced without the written permission. The restrictions apply to immigrant visas, but not students, other temporary visitors or refugee processing. The criteria desired by the US includes, electronic passports, reporting of loss or thefts of passports, sharing information to validate travelers and sharing share information on known or suspected terrorists and criminals, the official said. Specifically, all immigrants from Burma, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan and Nigeria will be banned from the US. Immigration restrictions will be imposed on: Nigeria, Eritrea, Tanzania, Sudan, Kyrgyzstan and Myanmar (known as Burma), with exceptions for immigrants who have helped the US. Your opinions are important to us. CNN's Priscilla Alvarez and Catherine Shoichet contributed to this report. and Terms of Use. The current policy restricts entry from seven countries to varying degrees: Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria and Yemen, along with Venezuela and North Korea.